Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
04-14-2014, 11:47 AM,
#1
V-Star 1300 Deluxe Audio Troubleshooting.
I am unable to get my audio to work at all. The unit is in Audio mode, I hear the three short beeps as soon as the bike starts, however no sounds come from the speakers. I am also unable to switch to GPS mode, which leads me to believe there must be an issue with the unit on the handlebars. I had a light bar installed by the dealer and the front fairing had to come off, maybe some wires got pinched or disconnected. I've tried getting my Ipod classic and my Iphone 4s to work. Any other things I may be missing?
Reply
04-14-2014, 12:00 PM,
#2
RE: V-Star 1300 Deluxe Audio Troubleshooting.
@Montero1 1st thing has it worked at all since you had the light bar installed? if not would be taking it back to them saying uhhh could you check this out as was working before but not now, they caused it, they get to worry with and fix it.
2006 VStar Stratoliner, Freedom Performance split dual exhaust, Mustang seats, Sissy bar with back rack, bolted saddlebags to mounts.
Life's tough .. it's even tougher if you're stupid. - John Wayne

Reply
04-14-2014, 12:03 PM,
#3
RE: V-Star 1300 Deluxe Audio Troubleshooting.
(04-14-2014, 12:00 PM)Keith Wrote: @Montero1 1st thing has it worked at all since you had the light bar installed? if not would be taking it back to them saying uhhh could you check this out as was working before but not now, they caused it, they get to worry with and fix it.
We had the bar installed before delivery. We never really tried to see if the audio worked because we had a lot of snow shortly afterwards, and the bike has to be running to play audio. I'll be taking it back in, but I thought there may be something I'm overlooking that could be a simple fix.
Reply
04-14-2014, 12:06 PM,
#4
RE: V-Star 1300 Deluxe Audio Troubleshooting.
oh so it is a brand new under warranty unit?
2006 VStar Stratoliner, Freedom Performance split dual exhaust, Mustang seats, Sissy bar with back rack, bolted saddlebags to mounts.
Life's tough .. it's even tougher if you're stupid. - John Wayne

Reply
04-14-2014, 12:08 PM,
#5
RE: V-Star 1300 Deluxe Audio Troubleshooting.
(04-14-2014, 12:06 PM)Keith Wrote: oh so it is a brand new under warranty unit?
Yes, it was purchased on 2-1-14
Reply
04-14-2014, 12:17 PM,
#6
RE: V-Star 1300 Deluxe Audio Troubleshooting.
ahhh, then most def do not do a thing, take it in, do not want them saying you messed with it, etc. just call them and make a appt they should know about the weather for riding in your area so know been kept up inside during this time.
2006 VStar Stratoliner, Freedom Performance split dual exhaust, Mustang seats, Sissy bar with back rack, bolted saddlebags to mounts.
Life's tough .. it's even tougher if you're stupid. - John Wayne

Reply
04-19-2014, 01:26 AM,
#7
RE: V-Star 1300 Deluxe Audio Troubleshooting.
(04-14-2014, 12:17 PM)Keith Wrote: ahhh, then most def do not do a thing, take it in, do not want them saying you messed with it, etc. just call them and make a appt they should know about the weather for riding in your area so know been kept up inside during this time.

So a guy from the dealer said he thinks that the I-POD needs to be synced to the GPS (HUH? Really?) or that I should just download music to the GPS......Obviously something is wrong with the audio system, I should be able to hook up my Ipod just as I would to my car....
Reply
04-19-2014, 09:56 AM,
#8
RE: V-Star 1300 Deluxe Audio Troubleshooting.
(04-19-2014, 01:26 AM)Montero1 Wrote:
(04-14-2014, 12:17 PM)Keith Wrote: ahhh, then most def do not do a thing, take it in, do not want them saying you messed with it, etc. just call them and make a appt they should know about the weather for riding in your area so know been kept up inside during this time.

So a guy from the dealer said he thinks that the I-POD needs to be synced to the GPS (HUH? Really?) or that I should just download music to the GPS......Obviously something is wrong with the audio system, I should be able to hook up my Ipod just as I would to my car....

If it talks to your iPhone and iPod using Bluetooth then you would need to pair them to the bike - but he should have walked you through how to do that.

However, the fact that you can't switch to GPS mode tells me there is probably something amiss with the wiring.

John
===========================
2011 V-Star 650 Custom (new in fall 2013)
V&H Cruzer Pipes, Memphis Shades Bat Wing, Floorboards, Highway Bars,
Locking Bags, Tail Rack, LED Signals & Aux Brake Lights, Headlight Modulator,
Brake Light Modulator, 5/8" Gel Pad Under Upholstery.
Reply
04-19-2014, 11:54 AM,
#9
RE: V-Star 1300 Deluxe Audio Troubleshooting.
yeah, push the dealer to fix it instead of work arounds, they should if needs just a sync do it for you while you are there, but still seems like something not right with not changing modes, etc.
2006 VStar Stratoliner, Freedom Performance split dual exhaust, Mustang seats, Sissy bar with back rack, bolted saddlebags to mounts.
Life's tough .. it's even tougher if you're stupid. - John Wayne

Reply
05-23-2014, 12:33 AM,
#10
RE: V-Star 1300 Deluxe Audio Troubleshooting.
(04-14-2014, 12:03 PM)Montero1 Wrote:
(04-14-2014, 12:00 PM)Keith Wrote: @Montero1 1st thing has it worked at all since you had the light bar installed? if not would be taking it back to them saying uhhh could you check this out as was working before but not now, they caused it, they get to worry with and fix it.
We had the bar installed before delivery. We never really tried to see if the audio worked because we had a lot of snow shortly afterwards, and the bike has to be running to play audio. I'll be taking it back in, but I thought there may be something I'm overlooking that could be a simple fix.
Three weeks at the shop, finally working. Geez, not off to a good start.
Reply
07-03-2014, 06:44 PM,
#11
RE: V-Star 1300 Deluxe Audio Troubleshooting.
Hey Montero, I also have a 1300 Deluxe have had the exact same three beeps. Sometimes it changes to four beeps. Nobody can tell me what it is. Have you identified the problem? Has the shop told you what is causing it?

Thanks -W
(05-23-2014, 12:33 AM)Montero1 Wrote: Three weeks at the shop, finally working. Geez, not off to a good start.
Reply
08-19-2014, 10:58 AM,
#12
RE: V-Star 1300 Deluxe Audio Troubleshooting.
Ok, the audio is working fine through my ipod, but wont play through on an app through the I-Phone. Is there something I need to do on the phone? It will play the through the Iphone Itunes, just not a radio station app. Ideas?
Reply
08-21-2014, 08:14 PM,
#13
RE: V-Star 1300 Deluxe Audio Troubleshooting.
I use the iPhone with music mp3s and an Internet radio app called Live365. When I get the app playing music from the Internet on the phone speaker I then plug in the jack in the saddlebag and it plays through the fairing speakers once I start the bike up.

Sometimes if your iPhone looses connection or the Internet speed is slow, the station will cut out and it stops, then if you wait for it to buffer and connect again it starts playing again.

What I have noticed is that it will play through the Live365 radio app and then all of a sudden it will start playing MP3s and Podcasts I have saved on the phone. What the? I dont know how it changes but it does. I thought maybe if I pressed the track button it would switch back to the Live365 app but it does not, I litlerally have to pull over and mess with the iPhone. This happened on my and my wifes iPhone 4s.

I'm thinking the way to go is an iPod with only mp3s on it.
Reply
08-22-2014, 01:45 AM, (This post was last modified: 08-22-2014, 01:46 AM by Montero1.)
#14
RE: V-Star 1300 Deluxe Audio Troubleshooting.
(08-21-2014, 08:14 PM)Wirat Wrote: I use the iPhone with music mp3s and an Internet radio app called Live365. When I get the app playing music from the Internet on the phone speaker I then plug in the jack in the saddlebag and it plays through the fairing speakers once I start the bike up.

Sometimes if your iPhone looses connection or the Internet speed is slow, the station will cut out and it stops, then if you wait for it to buffer and connect again it starts playing again.

What I have noticed is that it will play through the Live365 radio app and then all of a sudden it will start playing MP3s and Podcasts I have saved on the phone. What the? I dont know how it changes but it does. I thought maybe if I pressed the track button it would switch back to the Live365 app but it does not, I litlerally have to pull over and mess with the iPhone. This happened on my and my wifes iPhone 4s.

I'm thinking the way to go is an iPod with only mp3s on it.

What a shame. I can't imagine how this should be any different than when we run it through the car.
Reply
01-31-2016, 08:41 PM,
#15
RE: V-Star 1300 Deluxe Audio Troubleshooting.
I have a 2014 Deluxe and my Ipod and sd card in the GPS both work as advertised, however, both will stop every once and a while for a few seconds. When they stop it starts again where it left off, any ideas?
Hover
Reply
Possibly Related Threads...
Thread Author Replies Views Last Post
  Hard saddlebags for v star 1300 Kos 7 8,581 04-12-2017, 08:46 PM
Last Post: Kos
  Sissy bar and hardware for 1300 Deluxe madmike 1 2,855 12-03-2016, 05:00 PM
Last Post: Ghostrider1300
  V Star 1300 handlebars derekj72 3 6,508 04-27-2016, 09:17 AM
Last Post: daddyrack
  2014 V Star 1300 Deluxe - Need help with audio WCoach15 4 6,047 07-07-2015, 02:54 PM
Last Post: WCoach15
  Accessory compatibility for 2013 v star 1300 GQ'n It 3 3,624 05-11-2015, 06:08 PM
Last Post: Keith
  2012 Vstar 1300 GAS GAUGE steve0158 11 11,490 05-05-2015, 03:08 AM
Last Post: fabarker
  1300 Delux bag liners ironpetal 3 2,898 06-14-2014, 07:33 PM
Last Post: OldePhart
  1300 Deluxe Saddlebag Guards Montero1 5 5,719 04-09-2014, 11:37 AM
Last Post: Keith
  Help! Electrical advice for audio install Maustarman 11 8,763 12-11-2013, 09:35 PM
Last Post: Maustarman
  Pullback advice needed- vstar 1300 2Woofs 10 9,198 11-06-2013, 10:13 AM
Last Post: Keith

Users browsing this thread:
1 Guest(s)