Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
04-19-2015, 04:47 AM,
Best way to get the drain bolt off?
So...as a budding mechanic I have been totally stymied by the oil drain bolt. I can't get it off. It's a new bolt since the dealership did the last oil change, so it's not rust or anything. It's just...really tight. I can't seem to get good purchase on the bolt with the 17 mm wrench that came with the bike: if I brace myself on the rear fork and pull the bolt seems to be threatening to round off sooner than turn. My sockets won't fit in there either. A mechanic friend said the owner's toolkit is garbage for any serious jobs and I should spring for some craftsman wrenches or something. But what works for folks here? Or am I just a weenie?
04-19-2015, 08:42 AM, (This post was last modified: 04-19-2015, 08:49 AM by pauli466.)
RE: Best way to get the drain bolt off?
(04-19-2015, 04:47 AM)Crispy Wrote: So...as a budding mechanic I have been totally stymied by the oil drain bolt. I can't get it off. It's a new bolt since the dealership did the last oil change, so it's not rust or anything. It's just...really tight. I can't seem to get good purchase on the bolt with the 17 mm wrench that came with the bike: if I brace myself on the rear fork and pull the bolt seems to be threatening to round off sooner than turn. My sockets won't fit in there either. A mechanic friend said the owner's toolkit is garbage for any serious jobs and I should spring for some craftsman wrenches or something. But what works for folks here? Or am I just a weenie?
your going need a box wrench the tool bag wrench will just round it off. get a nice long box wrench for good leverage. agood one should be around 6 to 8 dollars. better yet get a combination wrench set from 8mm to 19mm it will cover every hex bolt on the bike. around 30$ except maybe the fork caps 22mm
04-19-2015, 01:45 PM,