Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
07-11-2016, 11:44 AM,
Key won't turn in ignition (first post!!!)
Hey everyone, first post on the forum!

Picked up a 2000 V-Star 650 this weekend. I have zero experience riding motorcycles (plan on taking the Harley class next weekend) so ANY and ALL advice is welcome and needed!

I can't get the key to turn in the ignition. Is there something you need to do to get it to turn? Like in a car you have to press the clutch/brake depending on the vehicle to get the car to crank.

I watched the previous owner crank it so I know it's the right key, plus I was able to get it to turn once but I'm not sure how, it didn't work again after that.
Also, it idles with the choke on or off, but when you really rev it, the engine dies. Any initial maintenance that needs to be done to get it to run smoothly?

Thanks!
07-11-2016, 01:56 PM, (This post was last modified: 07-11-2016, 02:20 PM by Kimura.)
RE: Key won't turn in ignition (first post!!!)
@ejbrut Welcome to the forum. The key won't turn at all, or it won't start when you turn it? How many miles on it?

Here's a few things to consider; First your ignition should have three positions, Lock, Off, and On. If the key is in the lock position, the key needs to be pushed in slightly farther to disengage before it can be turned. At the same time you might need to wiggle your handlebar some. 2nd, these bikes are designed to kill the engine when the kickstand is put down while the bike is in gear. I would recommend putting the bike in neutral to start, but you could also lift the kickstand and pull in the clutch when starting in gear. And 3rd, and I'm just throwin this in to cover the base, with your key in the On position, you need to press the starter button. It's located on the right handlebar under the red kill switch. I hope these can solve your problem.
'07 1100 Custom; Cobra Pipes, Kuryakyn Hypercharger
07-11-2016, 02:29 PM,