Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
08-13-2016, 10:47 PM,
First bike, needing some help
Ok guys, Im new to motorcycles. I dont know a whole lot about them, so bear with me a little bit. I bought a 2000 yamaha v star 1100 custom from a friend. I only paid $400 for it runs like a top. the only issue when i bought it was that it wouldnt go into any gear. Stuck in neutral basically. it got that way when he stopped driving it. He said it was hard to shift and the shifter would get stuck to the point that he had to physically reach down to bring the shifter back up. He was riding one day and he stopped at a light and it got stuck he reached down at a stop light to bring it back up but then wouldnt go back in any gear after that. he had it towed to his house and thats it. 3 months later i now have it. same deal stuck in neutral no response from the shifter at all no response from the clutch at all either, but will still fire up and run like a top. I got it Thursday today is Saturday this is where it gets tricky. I got home from work today ( I start it everyday to keep the battery charged and the fluids flowing) low and behold i try to start it and all of a sudden the bike is in gear 1st or 2nd it jumped on me when i tried to start it. So i get excited and i start adjusting the clutch now i have clutch response as well. Now the issue is I have no other gears except for the one that it is in. any suggestions as to what is causing this?
08-14-2016, 07:23 AM, (This post was last modified: 08-14-2016, 07:33 AM by nick59.)
RE: First bike, needing some help
https://sites.google.com/site/vstar1100k...m-shifting well might this be the problem https://sites.google.com/site/vstar1100k...st-do-list starting it every day drains the battery you have to get the rpms up to chafge the battery. its best to leave it alone or put it on a battery tender.read the section on how to start the bike it could save you some money.
2007 1100 custom,cobra longs and pods,doubled clutch spring.